Important: We updated this article in June 2023 to ensure all the information below is both current and correct. State law determines who receives Maryland workers’ compensation benefits and how the process works. If you’re a Marylander who experienced an accident or illness on the job in the Free State, you should focus on feeling better ― not feeling anxious about the claims process.
We’ve gathered the information you need to get the workers’ comp benefits you deserve.
Maryland Workers’ Compensation Eligibility
Every employer with one or more employees in this state must carry Maryland workers’ compensation insurance. This typically covers part-time and full-time workers and some independent contractors.
There are exceptions, however:
- People employed by the state
- Federal employees Learn how to file a federal claim.
- Agricultural employers with no more than two employees or less than a $15,000 annual payroll
- Sole proprietors and their business partners
Important: Work for a family business? Learn more about whether or not you’re covered.
How to File Your Maryland Workers’ Compensation Claim
Important: If you have any pre-existing health conditions, you may want to consult a workers’ compensation attorney.
Follow this process for filing your Maryland workplace accident claim:
- Get treatment immediately if you require emergency or urgent care. Tell the doctor injury or illness is work-related, and keep all receipts and bills. See what a workers’ compensation doctor can do for you.
- Notify your supervisor or employer within 10 days. Include the time, date, place and brief description of how your workplace injury or illness occurred. Important: If you don’t notify within 10 days, then you may not qualify for Maryland workers’ compensation.
- Submit an Employee Claim Form C-1 within 60 days. You can either get one from your employer or download it here. Complete it and send it to the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission (WCC). It takes the WCC about 2-3 business days to process your claim once they receive your form. Important: Once you miss more than three work shifts after your accident, you may qualify for income replacement benefits. The state won’t pay for those first three days off until after you miss 14 days total at work.
- Wait for a decision. If your case is approved, your first Maryland workers’ compensation payment should arrive within 15 days of submitting your claim. If it’s not, then you’ll receive a mailed notice of denial within 30 days.
- Take action if you’re denied. A WCC Commissioner will schedule a hearing to resolve your claim dispute. Your claim dispute must be resolved within two years of your accident to receive any Maryland workers’ compensation benefits. Important: The appeal process can be complex and stressful so we recommend hiring a workers’ compensation attorney.
Every case is different. For more information on the process, see this WCC Claim Process Flow Chart.
More Facts About Maryland Workers’ Compensation
The Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics analyzes workers’ comp data on most U.S. states and territories. The total number of recordable cases in the Old Line State dropped dramatically in 2020 – to 51,700 from a high of 65,900 in 2019 – indicating the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic lockdowns. Cases rebounded slightly in 2021 to 58,300.
Claims filed in service-providing industries followed a similar pattern over the same period, falling from a high of 42,000 to 36,000 and bouncing back slightly to 39,200. The total number of employees who missed work, transferred jobs or received restrictions has returned to pre-COVID levels, growing from a low of 32,700 in 2020 to 36,400 in 2021.
How to Get Free Legal Assistance with Your Case
Important: You can get free, confidential claim assistance.
Maryland workers’ comp program data shows insurance companies disputed 39% of claims in 2021. Yet the WCC only denied 2.7% of those claims on appeal! This is another good reason to talk to an experienced Maryland workers’ compensation attorney.
These specialists typically work on a contingency basis. Important: If you don’t win a cash settlement, then the lawyer gets paid $0. If your case is successful, then you pay only a reasonable, one-time fee.
Ready to see if you qualify? Click the button below to sign up for a free phone call during regular weekday business hours:
Margot Lester is the CEO of The Word Factory, a B2B & B2C content marketing agency that provides services for Fortune 100 brands, healthtech companies and SaaS developers. An award-winning business and brand journalist, she writes for daily and weekly newspapers and business journals, national magazines, in-flight publications and leading websites. Margot is also an in-demand writing coach and organizational communications trainer, helping individuals and teams write more effectively. Twitter/X: @word_factory LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/margotlester.