Every state has its own individual laws and process for handling workers’ compensation claims. (The lone exception is federal employees, who always follow the same steps regardless of where they live.) If you get hurt or sick on the job, follow the steps below when filing a Wyoming workers’ compensation claim. Then, check out our chart tracking key statistical changes for the Wyoming workers’ compensation program from 2012 to 2016.
How to File Your Wyoming Workers’ Compensation Claim
According to the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, workers’ comp coverage is mandatory for nearly all employers in the state. Workers’ compensation insurance protects employers and injured or sick employees, who may need compensation for medical fees and lost wages. Below is the step-by-step process for filing your claim:
- Report your injury or illness to your supervisor immediately (and no later than 72 hours after it occurs). You can choose your own doctor to treat your illness/injury, but you’ll need written approval to change providers after that. Your treating physician can also refer you to another provider (like a specialist) if needed.
- Fill out your Report of Injury form and file it with the Wyoming Workers’ Compensation Division within 10 days. You’ll need to sign the form before submitting your report either via mail or online here. If you fail to file a claim within one year, you may become legally ineligible for workers’ comp benefits.
- The Division starts your and assigns a 9-digit case number for billing purposes. Give that case number to any doctor who treats you. This ensures they bill the Division directly for your medical costs.
- In some cases, your employer or the Division may schedule an independent medical evaluation. If you get a letter in the mail notifying you about an upcoming medical exam, show up on time! Skipping this exam may jeopardize or terminate your benefits.
- If the Division denies your claim, you have 15 days to appeal in writing. You must mail back a letter requesting to appear before a hearing examiner. You can also apply for up to three months of Temporary Total Disability benefits while your case is under appeal.
Every Wyoming workers’ compensation claim is unique. Your own experience may vary.
Wyoming Workers’ Compensation Statistics, 2012-2016
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) publishes an annual report showing workers’ comp claim statistical data for most U.S. states. It shows total workers’ compensation claims, how many employees missed work/changed jobs and statistics for each job sector. Finally, see how the Wyoming workers’ compensation program changed from 2012 to 2016 in our chart below.
For this five-year period, service-industry workers filed just over half of all workers’ compensation claims. They peaked at 55% in 2014, then fell to 50% the following year. Still, claims in that job sector remained fairly stable, peaking at 4,700 in 2014 and dropping to 4,100 in 2015. Employees who missed work, changed jobs or received restrictions bounced between 3,900-4,200, showing remarkable stability over this period. Overall, the Wyoming workers’ compensation program makes employee safety a priority and paying benefits to injured workers easier.
You May Qualify for Legal Assistance
If the Wyoming workers’ compensation process seems overly complicated or you have preexisting conditions, get a free attorney consultation. A workers’ comp lawyer can answer all your questions before you file or handle your appeal if your claim’s denied. Best of all, these attorneys work on contingency – you’ll pay no out-of-pocket fees for professional legal assistance today.
Ready to see if you may qualify? Click the button below to start your free benefits evaluation now!