State law dictates how to file and process workers’ compensation claims, unless you’re a federal employee. If you need to file a Nebraska workers’ compensation claim, we’ll outline the steps for you below. Then, see any Nebraska workers’ compensation program’s statistical changes from 2013 to 2017 in our interactive chart.
Steps to File Your Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Claim
According to the Nebraska Department of Administrative Services, workers’ compensation insurance is required for all employers with at least one employee. Only volunteers, independent contractors, federal or railroad employees are exempt from this coverage. Follow these steps to file your Nebraska workers’ compensation claim:
- Report your injury or illness to your supervisor as soon as possible. You must tell either your supervisor or HR about the incident within 24 hours to start your claim.
- Your employer must then file a First Report of Alleged Occupational Injury or Illness with the court within 10 days. It’s not your job to file this form, but you should also get a copy for your records.
- Tell the first doctor that treats your workplace injury or illness that it’s work-related. Figuring out which doctor you can see under state law is often tricky. For complete rules on healthcare providers, read Choosing a Doctor for a Work-Related Injury – Rule 50.
- Your employer’s insurance company will either approve or deny your claim within 30 days. If approved, you can expect your first lost wages check to arrive in 30 days or less.
- If your claim’s denied, contact the Workers’ Compensation Court to dispute that decision. You have two years from your injury date to request informal dispute resolution. Or, a Nebraska workers’ compensation attorney can file a legal petition suing your employer for lost wages and medical expenses.
We realize every Nebraska workers’ compensation claim is unique. So, the steps you follow may vary from the ones we outlined above. To get a more comprehensive understanding of the process, visit the state’s Worker Frequently Asked Questions page.
Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Statistics, 2013-2017
Each year, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) releases a report with workers’ compensation program statistics for nearly every state. This report gives detailed information showing where benefits fall on a yearly basis. It also highlights total recordable cases, employees that missed work, transferred jobs, or received restrictions, and service-industry claims. Below is an inside look at how the Nebraska workers’ compensation program changed from 2013-2017.
One interesting thing to note is that total claims filed fell 19% during this five-year period. There were 3,100 fewer cases in Nebraska from 2016 to 2017, a stark difference from previous years. Like most other states, service-industry jobs make up more than half of claims filed annually (53%-61%). It’s encouraging to see that most workplace injuries aren’t bad enough to qualify for lost wage benefits. Less than half those reported every year qualified for workers’ comp except for 2017, when it was exactly 50%.
You May Qualify for Legal Assistance
People with pre-existing conditions or repetitive motion injuries likely need a lawyer, since they’re harder to prove. Workers’ compensation attorneys charge $0 for legal assistance if you don’t win a cash settlement. A lawyer can help you collect necessary documentation, negotiate with your employers’ insurer and represent you in court, if needed. Sign up for a free, no-obligation phone call with a nearby lawyer today. It’s the fastest way to get professional claim help or legal advice without leaving your house.
Ready to see if you may qualify? Click the button below to start your free online benefits evaluation now!Get Your Free Benefits Evaluation