Unless you’re a federal employee, state law dictates the process for filing your Nevada workers’ compensation claim. If you’re hurt or get sick on the job in Nevada, we’ve outlined the steps to apply for workers’ comp benefits. Then, check our interactive chart below to see how the Nevada workers’ compensation program changed from 2013 to 2017.
How to Apply for Nevada Workers’ Compensation Benefits After Getting Hurt or Sick in the Workplace
All employers with one or more employees in this state must carry Nevada workers’ compensation insurance. This insurance covers full-time and part-time workers alike. According to the State of Nevada Department of Business & Industry, follow these steps to apply for benefits:
- Notify your supervisor as soon as possible about your accident. Seek emergency medical treatment first, if needed. However, you must notify your employer within 90 days in order to qualify for benefits.
- Ask your supervisor for a Form C-1, Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease Incident Report to fill out. You and your supervisor must sign and date the completed form within 7 days to maximize your benefits.
- Ask your employer for a list of insurer-authorized doctors before seeking additional treatment. You must choose an authorized provider to ensure your employer covers additional medical expenses.
- At your first appointment, you must tell the doctor your injury is work-related. Ask for a copy of Form C-4, Employee’s Claim for Compensation/Report of Initial Treatment. Fill out the top half, sign and date it. Your doctor then completes the second half, signs and dates it.
- Your claim officially starts once your doctor files Form C-4 with your employer’s insurance claims administrator. The doctor who treats you has three working days after your first appointment to file Form C-4 with the correct insurer.
- After receiving Form C-4, your employer’s insurer must approve or deny your claim within 30 days. If denied, you have another 30 days to appeal. In most cases, this involves requesting a hearing before a hearing officer within 70 days.
We realize every Nevada workers’ compensation claim is different, so your own process may vary. For more about the Nevada workers’ compensation process, read the Employee Guide brochure here.
Nevada Workers’ Compensation Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) releases an annual report on the workers’ compensation process in nearly every state. This report notes the total claims filed, how many employees with workplace injuries missed work, and industry-specific claims data. See how Nevada workers’ compensation claims changed from 2013 to 2017 in our chart below.
The Nevada workers’ compensation program looks fairly stable during this five-year period. Total claims filed rose 6% from 2016 to 2017, but that’s not the biggest change we saw. That involved employees who missed work or received restrictions, which increased more than 9% from 2013 to 2014. The service industry dominates Nevada’s workforce, making up 75% of workers’ comp claims filed during this five-year period, on average. Still, only about 53%-55% of workplace injuries during this timeframe were bad enough to make employees take time off to recover. That means 45%-47% of employees filing claims during this time didn’t qualify for workers’ comp benefits.
You May Qualify for Legal Assistance
If the Nevada workers’ compensation process sounds confusing to you, you’re not alone. People with pre-existing conditions are most likely to get denied Nevada workers’ compensation benefits. Why risk losing benefits you’re rightfully owed when you can get legal assistance for free right now? A workers’ compensation attorney will know exactly what to do, even with a complicated case. These attorneys always work on contingency, so you’ll pay nothing for professional claim help now. Plus, a lawyer won’t take your case unless they think you have a valid claim that qualifies for benefits. If your claim’s denied, an experienced attorney gives you the best possible chance of winning your appeal. And if you do win, you’ll only pay a small, one-time fee.
Ready to see if you may qualify? Click the button below to start your free online benefits evaluation now!