Vermont workers’ compensation claims fall under state-specific laws, unless you’re a federal employee. If you get hurt or sick at work, follow the steps outlined below for filing your Vermont workers’ compensation claim. Then, take a closer look at how the Vermont workers’ compensation program statistics changed from 2013 to 2017.
How to File Your Vermont Workers’ Compensation Claim
Vermont workers’ compensation insurance is required for all employers in this state. Insurance coverage must include all full-time and part-time employees as well as independent contractors and subcontractors.
Follow these steps when you’re ready to file your workers’ comp claim:
- If you’re injured or become ill at work, notify your employer immediately. Seek medical treatment as soon as possible and tell the doctor it’s work-related. If you cannot return to work, you must get a written doctor’s note to give employer.
- Your employer then has 72 hours to notify the Vermont Department of Labor. Your employer must complete Form 5 – Employee’s Notice of Injury and Claim for Compensation for their insurer. You should also get a copy of that report for your records.
- The insurance company has 21 days to investigate your claim. Expect the claims adjuster to contact you for more information about your injury or illness. You’ll also get a Form 7 Medical Authorization to complete that gives the insurance company access your medical records. Be sure to fill this form out completely and return it promptly to make the investigation process quick and smooth!
- If your employer’s insurer denies your claim, you may dispute that decision and request an appeals hearing in writing. To do this, complete Form 6, Notice and Application for Hearing and mail it to the Vermont Department of Labor.
The dispute resolution process isn’t clear, so we strongly recommend consulting a lawyer before requesting a hearing. The Department of Labor says the burden of proof falls on employees, and that they don’t gather medical evidence. To learn more about the program, visit the state’s website here.
Vermont Workers’ Compensation Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) publishes a workers’ compensation statistical report showing annual claims data for most U.S. states. It shows total workers’ compensation claims, how many employees missed work or changed jobs and data for each industry type. Finally, you’ll see a detailed chart showing how the Vermont workers’ compensation program changed from 2013 to 2017 below.
Every year except 2013, service-industry workers filed about 60% of all Vermont workers’ compensation program claims during this period. Almost 1,000 more service-industry employees applied for workers’ comp benefits that year, but the total claims rose half that amount. Employees who missed work, changed jobs or received restrictions bounced between 4,600 and 5,500 during that five-year timeframe. Overall, the Vermont workers’ compensation program is stable and offers strong protections to nearly all full-time employees across the state.
You May Qualify for Legal Assistance
Applying for workers’ comp after an injury or illness gets tricky if you have a pre-existing condition. If your employer already denied your claim, talk to a lawyer immediately. Whether you just want confidential advice that applies to your specific issue or a second opinion, we offer free consultations. You’ll never pay for professional help filing your claim or handling your appeal unless you win benefits.
Ready to see if you may qualify? Click the button below to start your free benefits evaluation now!