Important: We updated this article to reflect the most current data for Utah in November 2022. All Utah workers’ compensation claims are handled at the state level unless you’re a federal employee. Residents of the Beehive State who either get hurt or sick at work can follow these steps to file a claim. Here’s the information you need to get the benefits you’re entitled to.
Am I Eligible for Utah Workers’ Compensation Benefits?
Almost all employers must carry Utah workers’ compensation insurance. Most full-time workers are covered on day one. Exceptions are:
- Real estate and insurance sellers
- Household domestic workers (i.e., housekeepers, nannies, etc.)
- “Casual” or seasonal employees
- Certain small agricultural operations employees
- Federal or state employees
Like everything else, COVID-19 affected Utah workers’ comp. Check out this handy infographic for the details.
How Do I File a Utah Workers’ Compensation Claim
If your workplace injury or illness requires emergency or urgent care, seek treatment immediately. Pro Tip: Once you arrive, tell the doctor your injury or illness is work-related.
1. Confirm that your employer provides Utah workers’ compensation insurance coverage.
If they do, then follow these steps. If they don’t, consider filing a personal injury lawsuit for medical bills and lost wages.
Pro Tip: If suing is your only option, get a free personal injury claim evaluation online first.
2. Notify your supervisor or employer immediately, preferably in writing.
You have 180 days from the date your injury or illness occurred to inform your employer. But don’t wait to report. Delaying could make you ineligible for workers’ comp benefits. Your employer has 7 days to notify their insurer and file an Employer’s First Report of Injury or Illness Form 122.
Pro Tip: In most cases, you must seek medical treatment from a doctor designated by your employer.
3. Tell the doctor your injury or illness is work-related.
They will file a Physician’s Initial Report of Injury Form 123 with the insurer as well as the Utah Labor Commission. Then the insurance company has 14 days to notify the Industrial Accidents Division.
Pro Tip: State law requires your employer’s insurer to give you a copy. The insurer has 21 days to either approve or deny your claim, or to request a 45-day extension.
4. Act if your claim is denied.
Start by contacting your claims adjuster to see if you can resolve the issue. If that doesn’t work, then request an appeals hearing from the Labor Commission’s Adjudication Division. If you’re still denied, file a Motion for Review within 30 days. The Utah Labor Commissioner or Commission Appeals Board will review your case and then make a final decision.
Learn more from the Utah Labor Commission’s Employee’s Guide to Workers’ Compensation here.
What Are Utah Workers’ Comp Benefits?
Approved claims cover necessary medical treatments and associated costs. This includes doctor bills, prescriptions, and other medical expenses. You also get reimbursement for travel, meals, and lodging required to receive treatment.
Your benefits depend on the extent and length of your disability:
- Temporary Partial Disability pays a weekly benefit when your illness or injury limits you to part-time work.
- Temporary Total Disability pays as much as $1,130 per week if you can return to work.
- Permanent Partial Disability pays a set amount. It’s based on your injury or impairment and information from your healthcare provider.
What Else Should I Know About Utah Workers’ Compensation?
The Bureau of Labor Statistics analyzes workers’ comp data on most U.S. states and territories. Here’s how the Utah workers’ compensation program changed between 2016 and 2020.
All categories were stable through 2019. But the number of recordable cases plummeted between 2019 and 2020. So did the volume of claims in the service sector. This is mostly because of COVID-19 restrictions. Interestingly, the number of employees who missed work, transferred, or received restrictions remained largely unchanged.
Do I Qualify for Legal Assistance?
When you’re dealing with a work-related illness or injury, navigating the Utah workers’ compensation system can make you feel even worse. You may want to hire an experienced attorney to help you get maximum benefits faster. Your lawyer can negotiate with insurers, gather medical evidence to support your claim, and represent you at hearings.
Pro Tip: Workers’ comp attorneys don’t receive payment unless you win benefits. If your case is successful, then you only pay a reasonable, one-time fee.
Ready to see if you may qualify? Then click the button below to start your free online benefits evaluation now:
Margot Lester is the CEO of The Word Factory, a B2B & B2C content marketing agency that provides services for Fortune 100 brands, healthtech companies and SaaS developers. An award-winning business and brand journalist, she writes for daily and weekly newspapers and business journals, national magazines, in-flight publications and leading websites. Margot is also an in-demand writing coach and organizational communications trainer, helping individuals and teams write more effectively. Twitter: @word_factory LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/margotlester.