Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Benefits: How to Apply

Connecticut workers' compensation article image

The Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Act governs how benefits work for injured or sick employees in this state. (The lone exception is federal employees, who must follow this process when applying for benefits.) If you suffer a workplace injury or illness, we’ll explain how to apply for Connecticut workers’ compensation benefits. Then, see how the Connecticut workers’ compensation program changed between 2013 and 2017 in our interactive chart below.



How to Apply for Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Benefits

According to the State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission, all employers in this state must provide WC coverage. That insurance coverage starts your first day at work, whether you’re employed full-time or only part-time. After an on-the-job illness or injury, here are the steps you’ll need to apply for Connecticut workers’ compensation:

  1. Inform your supervisor about your injury immediately after your accident. If you seek medical treatment before telling your supervisor, you might lose your right to claim any Connecticut workers’ compensation.
  2. You must visit an employer-designated doctor’s office for initial medical treatment. State law requires employer-provided medical care the first time a doctor treats your injury or illness. After that, you’re free to choose your own treating physician for ongoing care. (Be sure to ask your supervisor for a list of approved healthcare providers to choose from, if applicable.)
  3. Your employer should give you Form 30C, Notice of Claim for Compensation, which officially starts your claim. It’s best to sit down with your supervisor and fill this form out together after your initial medical care. You have one year from your injury accident date to apply for Connecticut workers’ compensation. If you’re filing a claim for an occupational illness, you have three years after your first symptoms appear.
  4. Once you’ve filed Form 30C, your employer has 24 hours to notify their insurance provider. They’ll file Form DAS WC-207, First Report of Injury, to do this on your behalf. However, we strongly recommend asking your supervisor for the workers’ comp insurance provider’s name and phone number.
  5. Your employer’s insurance provider then has 28 days to either approve or deny your claim. If you’re approved for lost wages, you’ll get your first payment within two weeks after filing Form 30C. Once the 28th day passes without receiving notice about your claim, state law says your employer must accept responsibility. In other words, your right to Connecticut workers’ compensation is automatic on day 29 if you haven’t heard from the insurer.
  6. If your claim’s denied, you have 15 days to dispute the insurance company’s decision. Informal Hearings are the go-to solution for resolving disputed claims. If you contact your employer’s insurer and cannot resolve your dispute, file this Hearing Request Form next.

Every Connecticut workers’ compensation claim is unique, so your own experience may vary. For more information about Connecticut workers’ compensation, read this Information Packet on the Commission’s website.

Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Statistics, 2013-2017

Every year, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reports on workers’ compensation program data in most U.S. states. This annual report lists total claims, who missed work, received restrictions or changed positions and information for specific job sectors. Look at our chart below to see how the Connecticut workers’ compensation program changed from 2013 to 2017:

The Connecticut workers’ compensation program saw a 15% drop in total claims filed from 2013 to 2015. But that’s nothing compared to how much the service-industry sector changed during that two-year period. Interestingly, employees that missed work, changed jobs or had restrictions fell just 11.4% during that timeframe. The yellow line represents all injured workers that missed enough shifts to qualify for lost wage payments. Each year, service-industry employees account for 64%-67% of reported workplace injuries. However, only 55%-58% of people hurt or sick on the job actually qualify for full workers’ comp benefits. That’s how many injuries are bad enough that workers need more than three calendar days off to recover each year.

You May Qualify for Legal Assistance

According to state law, it’s almost impossible to sue your employer over Connecticut workers’ compensation benefits. That said, it costs nothing to talk to a qualified workers’ comp attorney about your case. In addition, a lawyer can represent your appealed case if your initial claim’s denied. These lawyers always work on contingency, so you’ll pay nothing for professional legal assistance unless you win. And if you do win, then you’ll only pay a small, one-time fee.

Ready to see if you may qualify? Click the button below to start your free online benefits evaluation now!

Get Your Free Benefits Evaluation