Paying your bills can be a challenge when you’re out of work for health reasons. That causes stress and strain that add to your emotional and physical burden. Thankfully, Mississippi disability applicants have two ways to pay their bills if they cannot work due to health reasons. Two federal disability programs run by the Social Security Administration (SSA) may be able to help you ease your worries:
- Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI)
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
Applying is simple and fast since both programs use the same criteria.
We compiled the information you need into this Mississippi disability benefits guide.
SSDI for Mississippi Disability Applicants
The SSDI program is funded by deductions from some employees’ paychecks.
1. Who’s Eligible for SSDI?
Magnolia State residents must answer “yes” to all these questions to apply:
- Are you between age 18 and 65 and not currently getting Social Security benefits? SSDI benefits stop when you reach full retirement age because you start receiving regular Social Security benefits.
- Have you worked full-time for at least 5 of the last 10 years in jobs that withheld Social Security taxes? Eligibility lapses if you haven’t worked for 60 months because you didn’t pay FICA taxes during that time.
- Have you seen a healthcare provider in the past 3 months about your disability? If not, you can get a Disability Determination Services (DDS) exam to confirm your condition. Good news: A Mississippi disability attorney can pay for your doctor visits and medical records requests when you can’t.
- Does your healthcare provider expect your condition to keep you out of work for at least a year? You aren’t eligible if you return to work within 12 months.
Good news: Even if some of your answers were “no”, you could be eligible for the SSI program.
2. How Much Does SSDI Pay?
Your Mississippi disability payment is established in a two-step process. First, the SSA estimates your average monthly paycheck over 35 years of work. Then they set your payment at 40% of that amount.
The average 2022 benefit is $1,358 a month; the highest is $3,345. To earn above $3,000 a month, you must have earned $139,000 each year for 10 years before you were disabled.
Good news: Your payments could go up if Congress OKs a cost-of-living adjustment (COLA).
3. How Long Does It Take to Get Your First SSDI Payment?
The application takes about 5 months to complete, then another month for the first check to arrive.
Bad news: About 50% of applications are rejected because of basic paperwork errors.
Good news: Working with a Mississippi disability attorney makes you three times more likely to get approved — and you only pay if you receive benefits.
There are two ways to appeal if you’re denied. First, you can request a reconsideration within 60 days of your rejection. This process can take up to 3.5 months. Second, if the reconsideration isn’t approved, you can ask for a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge. This can take up to 12 months, though.
Bad news: Only 11% of appeals are successful. And even if you are approved, you might have to wait almost 2 years for the first payment.
Good news: Hiring a Mississippi disability lawyer increases your chances of a successful appeal. You only pay legal fees if you win.
4. How Long Can I Receive SSDI Payments?
The SSDI program pays as long as you pass updates every 3-7 years. After that, you’re eligible for Social Security retirement. Your monthly amount stays the same.
Related: South Carolina Disability Payments: How to Qualify
SSI for Mississippi Disability Seekers
SSI disability benefits help Americans who are blind, disabled or over 65 who meet eligibility requirements. Here’s what residents of the Natural State need to know.
1. What Are the Age Requirements for SSI Disability?
Hospitality State residents at least 65 years old are eligible. Younger Mississippians must get a DDS exam to establish eligibility.
Good news: A Mississippi disability lawyer can cover your doctor visits and medical records requests if you can’t.
2. What Are the Financial Eligibility Rules for SSI Disability?
Residents from Biloxi to Oxford seeking SSI benefits must:
- Have a monthly income below $2,260 if you’re blind and $1,350 if you have another disability. Couples must have less than $2,607, combined. Alimony, child support, alimony, SNAP earned interest, TANF, etc., are included in this amount.
- Own total assets under $2,000 ($3,000 for couples). Cash in your bank accounts and items you could sell, like stocks and bonds, lottery tickets, etc., count toward this total. The car and home you own, daily living items and wedding rings do not count against you.
3. How Much Does SSI Pay?
Approved people can receive as much as $841 in Mississippi disability benefits; couples can get up to $1,261. These amounts can increase when Congress approves a COLA.
4. How Long Can I Get SSI Payments?
If you’re older than 65, you’re eligible as long as you meet the financial requirements. If you’re younger than 65, benefits continue until age 65 provided you pass a disability update every 3-7 years.
Mississippi Disability Applicants May Qualify for Legal Assistance
Good news: Working with a Mississippi disability attorney makes you almost 3x more likely to receive benefits. And qualified Social Security lawyers don’t charge if you don’t receive benefits. If your application succeeds, then you only pay a small one-time fee.
Why wait? Click below to start your free online benefits evaluation.
Get Your Free Benefits Evaluation
Margot Lester is the CEO of The Word Factory, a B2B & B2C content marketing agency that provides services for Fortune 100 brands, healthtech companies and SaaS developers. An award-winning business and brand journalist, she writes for daily and weekly newspapers and business journals, national magazines, in-flight publications and leading websites. Margot is also an in-demand writing coach and organizational communications trainer, helping individuals and teams write more effectively. Twitter: @word_factory LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/margotlester.