Are health issues preventing you from working for at least one year? You may qualify for Kansas disability through two federal programs run by the Social Security Administration (SSA):
- Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI)
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
Because the programs use the same eligibility criteria, you can apply to both at the same time. Let’s take a closer look at what Kansas disability claimants need to know.
SSDI for Kansas Disability Applicants
The federal SSDI program is funded by deductions from workers’ paychecks. Read on for information on eligibility and payments for Sunflower State residents.
1. Who’s Eligible to Apply for SSDI?
If you answer “yes” to all of these questions, then you can apply for SSDI benefits today:
- Are you between 18 and 65 and not receiving Social Security benefits? The SSDI program stops paying when you reach full retirement age since you begin getting regular Social Security benefits.
- Have you worked full-time for at least 5 of the last 10 years in jobs that withheld Social Security taxes? Eligibility lapses if you stop working for 60 months because you weren’t paying FICA taxes during that time.
- Have you seen a doctor in the last 90 days about your condition? If not, you need Disability Determination Services (DDS) to confirm your condition. A Kansas disability lawyer can cover doctor’s visits and medical records if you can’t pay for them.
- Does your doctor expect your health to keep you from working for at least 12 months? If you can return to work in months or weeks, you aren’t eligible.
If you answered “no”, don’t worry. The SSI program may be available to you.
2. How Much Money Does SSDI Pay in Benefits?
Kansas disability payments equal 40% of your average monthly paycheck over 35 years of working. Disabled workers receive an average of $1,358 in monthly SSDI for 2022; however, the most you can get is $3,345 per month. To get SSDI payments above $3,000 a month, you must have earned $139,000 annually for 10 years before becoming disabled. Higher payments are sometimes provided through a cost-of-living adjustment passed by the U.S. Congress.
Related: Idaho Disability Benefits: A Guide to Monthly Payments
3. How Long Does It Take to Get Your First SSDI Payment?
There’s usually a 5-month waiting period for benefits, so Kansas disability recipients could receive their first payments about 6 months after approval. Unfortunately, almost half of the people who apply are turned down. Why? Because they make basic paperwork mistakes. Working with a Kansas disability attorney reduces the likelihood of errors and almost triples your chances of being approved. And since disability lawyers work on contingency, you won’t pay legal fees unless you get benefits.
If your claim is rejected, you must appeal within 60 days. The first appeal is called a reconsideration and takes about 3.5 months to complete. If that’s denied, you can request an appeals hearing before an Administrative Law Judge. These proceedings can take up to 12 months, and judges approve only 11% of appealed claims. Even if your case is successful, you might have to wait almost 2 years for the first payment.
4. How Long Can I Receive SSDI Payments?
SSI for Kansas Disability Applicants
SSI disability benefits help low-income Americans who are blind, disabled or over 65 and meet certain requirements. We collected everything residents of the Wheat State need to know.
1. What Are the SSI Disability Age Requirements?
Kansas disability applicants aged 65 and older automatically meet the age requirement. Younger Jayhawks need a DDS medical exam to establish eligibility. A Kansas disability lawyer can cover the cost of doctor visits and medical records if you can’t pay for them yourself.
2. What Are the SSI Disability Financial Eligibility Rules?
Even if you meet the age requirement or pass the DDS exam, Kansans seeking SSI payments must have:
- Monthly income from wages and/or other sources below $1,350 if you have a disability other than blindness, or $2,260 if you are blind. Couples applying for disability must have less than $2,607 in combined monthly income. The SSA counts child support, alimony, earned interest, SNAP, TANF, etc., as “monthly income.”
- Total assets under $2,000 ($3,000 for couples), including money in the bank and things you liquidate, like lottery tickets, stocks and bonds, etc. However, your daily living items like your vehicle, the home you own and your wedding ring don’t count toward this total.
3. How Much Does SSI Pay?
If your claim is approved, you may get as much as $841 for an individual or $1,261 for couples. From time to time, Congress approves a COLA to increase your benefit.
4. How Long Can I Get SSI Payments?
Kansas disability recipients must pass a disability update every 3-7 years in order to maintain eligibility. For Jayhawks over 65, monthly benefits continue as long financial requirements are met. Kansans under 65 deemed ineligible won’t continue to get benefits.
Kansas Disability Applicants May Qualify for Legal Assistance
People seeking Kansas disability benefits can hire a Social Security lawyer to boost the odds of receiving benefits by almost 3x. Your attorney charges nothing if you don’t win, and a small one-time fee if you do.
Don’t wait! See if you qualify for Kansas disability benefits right now. Click below to start your free online benefits evaluation.
Get Your Free Benefits Evaluation
Margot Lester is the CEO of The Word Factory, a B2B & B2C content marketing agency that provides services for Fortune 100 brands, healthtech companies and SaaS developers. An award-winning business and brand journalist, she writes for daily and weekly newspapers and business journals, national magazines, in-flight publications and leading websites. Margot is also an in-demand writing coach and organizational communications trainer, helping individuals and teams write more effectively. Twitter: @word_factory LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/margotlester.